A large township just east of Philadelphia and Camden, Cherry Hill was first settled in 1695 as Waterford Township by followers of William Penn. It became a successful agricultural and mill community before incorporation in 1844 under the name Delaware Township. Renamed Cherry Hill in 1961, the town doubled in population between 1960 and 1970. The Cherry Hill Mall, one of the nation's first enclosed malls, was built in 1962. Today, Cherry Hill is a large and vibrant suburban community and employment hub. There are three major clusters of high and low-rise buildings: Route 70, the Cherry Hill Mall area, and the intersection of Kings Highway and Chapel Avenue.